Book Review, Read in 2017, Sam Hepburn

Book Review: Her Perfect Life by Sam Hepburn

A brilliantly twisty psychological thriller for fans of I Let You Go and Behind Closed Doors.

How far would you go to create the perfect life?

Gracie Dwyer has it all: the handsome husband, the adorable child, the beautiful home and the glittering career. The perfect life.

Her new friend Juliet doesn’t exactly fit in. She’s a down-on-her-luck single parent with no money and not much hope.

So just what is it that draws Gracie and Juliet together? And when the cracks start to appear in Gracie’s perfect life, can both of them survive? (From Goodreads.com


Published by Harper, February 2017  

It was the promise of a dark, twisty friendship that drew me to this book, telling the story of Gracie-a successful celebrity chef, with the perfect looks, family and home to match and poor Juliet-downtrodden single mum, bitter and jealous while watching others live the life she believes she should have had. I really love the switching narrative here, it gives the reader a real opportunity to get to know each woman and understand their insecurities, flaws and strengths. I think Juliet was particularly well written, I could feel her sense of disappointment, bitterness and envy throughout the whole book. 

There are lots of little threads running throughout this book which don’t seem to particularly relate to the main story. What surprised me was how they were all tied together in a massive twist I didn’t see coming at all. Sam Hepburn very cleverly and quietly drops the clues, then brings them all together in an OMG???!!! revelation. I had a few theories running through my mind as I read-none of them were right. There’s also a third, mysterious narrator, who also isn’t revealed until the end, adding to my need to race through the chapters and know exactly what was going on. 


Her Perfect Life is exactly the kind of book I can find myself glued to until I’ve read the last page. It’s got a great premise, fast flowing and pacey chapters, multiple narrators (my favourite) and some real out of the blue twists. I just couldn’t put it down. If you’re looking for a page turner to keep you guessing, then look no further.   

I read an advance review copy from the Amazon Vine Program. 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Her Perfect Life by Sam Hepburn”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s