#BlogTour ~BookReview – The Missing Wife by Sam Carrington

You think you know those closest to you. You are wrong…

A sleep-deprived new mother approaching her fortieth birthday, the very last thing Louisa wants to do is celebrate.

But when her friend Tiff organises a surprise party, inviting the entire list of Louisa’s Facebook friends, Louisa is faced with a room full of people she hasn’t spoken to in years – including someone she never expected to see again: her ex-boyfriend, Oliver Dunmore.
 
When Oliver’s wife Melissa goes missing after the party, everyone remembers the night differently. Someone knows what happened to Melissa, and Louisa is determined to find them. But the truth could be closer, and the deception more devastating, than she’d ever imagined…

A gripping psychological suspense novel, perfect for fans of Samantha Downing’s My Lovely Wife, Lucy Clarke’s You Let Me Inand Linda Green’s The Last Thing She Told Me.

Published June 2019 by Avon

~ Review ~ 

I’ve read most of Sam Carrington’s previous books, and found them to be pacy, twisty and thoroughly enjoyable reads. The Missing Wife is no exception, and one thing’s for sure – when you pick up a book for from this author, you know you’re in for a great, page turning read.

The Missing Wife starts with frazzled new mum, Louisa, struggling through sleep deprivation as an older mum. With her fortieth birthday looming, the last thing she feels like is celebrating. But when a promised night away for a rest and good sleep without the baby turns into a surprise party, Louise is faced with a past she’d rather leave behind and forgotten memories she’d rather not remember. When she finds out the next morning that someone went missing from her party, it looks like the nightmare is only just beginning.

Louise had ALL my sympathies when she realises her husband has sprung a surprise party on her rather than the relaxing break she desperately needed. I mean who wants a room full of your past facing you when you’re exhausted in the first few weeks following childbirth? To be honest, a surprise party with people from my past would be my worst nightmare at anytime! Poor woman.

One of the guests is even less welcome, Ex college sweetheart, Oliver, who puts Louise even more on edge with his presence after twenty years. Oliver is immediately creepy – he had my shackles up from the start and I was desperate to find out what it was he was hiding, and what had happened during their relationship to traumatise Louise so much she’d extinguished it from her memory.

The Missing Wife is one of those books that casts suspicion on every character, and I must’ve come up ten different theories while reading this. It’s a twisty, tangled story of bad judgement, past mistakes and obsession. With a compelling plot and short, punchy chapters, this is a quick read which held my attention from beginning to end. Absolutely perfect one sitting reading, this is definitely one for your holiday list this year.

(I read an advance copy courtesy of the publisher)

the missing wife blog tour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s