#BlogTour #BookReview – I Know Who You Are by Alice Feeney

l Know Who You Are is the brilliant tale of two stories. One is about Aimee Sinclair—well-known actress on the verge of being full-on famous. If you saw her, you’d think you knew her. One day towards the near-end of her shoot on her latest film, Aimee comes home from filming to find her husband’s cell phone and wallet on the dining room table. He never goes anywhere without them. But he’s nowhere to be found. She’s not too concerned—they had a huge fight the night before. They both said things they didn’t mean. He might have done things he didn’t mean, things she can’t forget. Even though she has a history of supposedly forgetting. After all, she’s a very good actress.

The next morning she goes for her morning run and then goes to her favorite coffee shop. But her card is denied. When she calls the bank they say her account has been emptied of $10,000. She immediately suspects her husband. But they say no, it was Aimee herself who closed out the account. And thus begins a bizarre rabbit hole into which Aimee finds herself falling where nothing is at it seems.

Alternating with Aimee’s story is that of a little girl who wandered away from home. We always tell our kids not to talk to strangers or bad things will happen. Well, bad things happen.

In I Know Who You Are, Alice Feeney proves that she is a master at brilliantly complicated plots and twists after twists.

Published May 16th 2019 by HQ (UK)   

~ Review ~

It’s two years ago now that I was lucky enough to participate in the blog tour for Alice Feeney’s debut novel, Sometimes I Lie , and it is fair to say I was blown away. I’ve been eagerly awaiting her second book, I Know Who You Are, for what feels like forever! So when HQ got in touch to ask if I’d like to participate again it was a no brainer. Thank you HQ!

Some authors just have that knack of ferociously hooking their reader from the very first page and holding them captive right through to the end. Alice Feeney has it and then some. With I Know Who You Are she proves that the first time wasn’t just a fluke, but  a finally honed skill that once again had me glued to the pages.

In I Know Who You Are,  Feeney continues to explore the theme of identity and celebrity – the public persona versus the real self and how intermingled they become. I Know Who You Are takes it a step further and the reader is constantly suspicious of who is putting on act and who can be trusted. It makes for exhilarating and compulsive reading – I was never sure what to expect or where the twists and turns were going to take me.

There’s a dual timeline throughout the book, but I’m not going to go into detail regarding these as I wouldn’t want to give anything away. What I will say is that the earlier timeline is excellent, shocking and at times heartbreaking and so very well written. The chapters alternate between the two timelines and by the end of each one, I was unable to put the book down and just HAD to read one more.

Following on from such a successful, shocking and gripping book as Sometimes I Lie with a second novel must be difficult. Expectation among readers is high and the pressure to deliver again huge. It feels rather unfair to say that I just still prefer Sometime I Lie that little bit more, because this book by any standard is excellent and has all the ingredients readers will hope for. The ending is one hell of a shocking twist, and possibly a teeny weeny bit too bizarre – though really I’m being nit-picky here. It’s still a bloody brilliant book – a speed read that will leave you gasping at twists you won’t see coming a mile off. Sure to be this summers must read psychological thriller, this is one you definitely don’t want to miss.

Thanks to the publishers for providing me with a free copy for review

i know who you are BT

Six In Six – A Look Back At Some Of My Top Books Of 2017 So Far…

6 I saw this over at Cleopatra Loves Books, and thought it was a great idea to look back at books read so far in 2017. Hosted by Jo’s Book Journey, the idea is sharing 6 books, in 6 categories from the first half of the year. So here’s my choices:

6 Books I Have Enjoyed The Most 

 

 

6 Psychological Thrillers I Have Read & Enjoyed 

 

 

6 New To Me Authors 

 

 

6 Covers I’ve Loved

 

 

6 Books Which Took Me To The Past 

 

 

Six Books I Own & Can’t Believe I Haven’t Managed To Read Yet 

 

Looking Back At March and Forward To April 2017

So, spring has sprung finally and in true British style, last week we had snow one day followed by beautiful, warm sunshine just a couple of days later. I went from woolly coat to t-shirt in 48 hours! I did manage to get some control over my overgrown garden and have been spring cleaning indoors too. I’ve had to become ruthless where books are concerned. I live in a tiny house, and to be honest they were taking over and becoming a massive problem. I had cupboards and shelves stacked with them, and not much room for anything else. So I had a cull. Around 300 books have now left my house, and if I’m honest, it felt somewhat of a relief. There were lots I’d read, plus lots I’d been sent unsolicited going back years that I was never going to read. Hopefully now, they’ll find someone to love them. I now have 3 bookcases – one for read but keepers, one for TBR and one for signed pretties. And I’m operating a new system of read it, then pass it on. Fingers crossed it works and I don’t become overwhelmed again! 
I’ve struggled a bit recently with anxiety/panic attacks and I’ve had to take a couple of weeks off work. Keeping busy at home has been a good distraction, as has reading, blogging and all the amazing bloggers, authors and book people on twitter. I’m feeling a lot better this week. 
Anyway…I read 11 books in March, and my 50 book challenge on Goodreads was almost 50% completed! I’ve moved that now to 75 books, and I’m still ahead but I like to give myself breathing room so I’ll stick with that for now! You can see what I read and reviewed in the archive section —> 
but without doubt, my book of the month was: 

 

(click on the image for reviews) 
Coming Up in April…  
Lots coming up in April, starting with the following blog tours next week: 



                     And here’s just some of the books I’m looking forward to reading and reviewing in April (some have already been read…look out for the reviews coming soon!)
What was your book of the month and which books are on your TBR pile for April? I’d love to know! 

Blog Tour: Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney – Guest Post and Review

Today I’m thrilled to be hosting the latest stop on the Sometimes I Lie blog tour and welcoming Alice Feeney with a guest post discussing the inspiration behind her love of writing, followed by a review – which I warn you now is GUSHY because I LOVED this book! But for now, over to Alice….
 ***************

I’ve been trying to write books for a very long time. When I was a little girl, I used to sit in the small room at the back of my parents’ shop, while they worked I would read as well as make up my own stories. I used to write them on folded up pieces of A4 photocopy paper, and I think my Dad still has one I made when I was six or seven. It was a bit like The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, I can still remember how proud I was of it now – I thought it was brilliant! 
Things got a bit more serious when I turned thirty. I had a great job working for the BBC, but deep down I knew that all I really wanted to do was write that book, like I’d imagined myself doing as a little girl. It feels like I’ve been scribbling in my spare time ever since. I’ve tried and failed a few times. I have my fair share of rejection letters, but each time, I just picked myself up and tried again – it’s just what you have to do.  
 
It took me six months to write the first draft of Sometimes I Lie. This time last year, I was still busy writing it. I wrote this novel while working full time as a producer on the BBC’s One O’clock News, so some parts were written in my garden shed at home, but others were written on the train to work or in my lunch breaks. It was like an obsession and it took over everything. If you told me back then that it would be a real book less than a year later, I wouldn’t have believed you!   
The last few months, being approached by agents and publishers, has been the most wonderful whirlwind! An amazing agent called Jonny Geller took a chance on me and my novel, and has since sold it around the world. I’m now able to write full time, which has always been my dream and I feel incredibly lucky – it is quite simply the best job in the world! 

                                     *************** 
Review
My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me.

1. I’m in a coma

2. My husband doesn’t love me any more

3. Sometimes I lie

Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won’t be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it’s perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow. 

Published by HQ 23rd March 2017 (UK)
O.M.G – pretty much sums up my reaction to this book, from the first page to last. I wasn’t just gripped – I was transfixed, unable to take my eyes from the words as twist after twist was revealed and chapter after chapter sped by.   

Sometimes I Lie is mind blowingly clever and complex. In short, because I don’t want to give away too much detail of the plot, it tells the story of Amber Reynolds, a woman who has found herself in hospital in a coma. What’s really fascinating first of all, is that it’s told from Amber’s perspective as she lies there, presumed to be unaware of what’s going on around her by her family, but able to hear everything. Alice Feeney completely convinced me here, everything from the descriptions of sounds and smells in the hospital, to feelings of panic, fear, confusion and frustration experienced by Amber. This alone makes the book stand out for it’s originality and intrigue. 

The chapters alternate between her time in a coma and the days leading up to the event that causes her to be there. There’s also another story woven in between the chapters, causing the reader to wonder how exactly it all ties together. The plotting is intricate and brilliant, as pieces of the puzzle are put together, then reshuffled and put back together again. Honestly, the twists and turns that are pulled out during this book come like bolts of lightening one after the other, making Sometimes I Lie an exhilarating, heart pumping, thrill of a read.  Alice Feeney plays mind games with the reader, leading you down one path, then dropping a bombshell to make you shout out loud. Every time I thought I knew exactly what was going on, bam! – that certainty is shattered. Right through to the very last page. 

It took me two sittings to read this book, and it was only because I had to take a break (mother duties) that I did. I could not stop reading. I had to know what happened. It is completely compelling, original and twisty and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. Sometimes I Lie is my book of 2017 so far, and it’s going to take a lot to beat it. Alice Feeney is without doubt an author to watch out for…I think we’ll be hearing a lot more from her in the future! 

(I read an advance Ebook edition courtesy of the publisher)