Uncategorized, www wednesday

WWW Wednesday – 23rd August 2017

www wednesday

WWW Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Taking On A World Of Words to record and share our weekly reading.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?  

Currently Reading  

The way back to usI am a mess of tears on the train. Can’t remember the last time a book broke my heart so much… (Lucy Dillon on Away from You) Perfect for fans of Adele Parks and Maggie O’Farrell.

Since their youngest son, Teddy, was diagnosed with a life-defining illness, Anna has been fighting: against the friends who don’t know how to help; against the team assigned to Teddy’s care who constantly watch over Anna’s parenting; and against the impulse to put Teddy above all else – including his older brother, the watchful, sensitive Isaac.

And now Anna can’t seem to stop fighting against her husband, the one person who should be able to understand, but who somehow manages to carry on when Anna feels like she is suffocating under the weight of all the things that Teddy will never be able to do.

As Anna helplessly pushes Tom away, he can’t help but feel the absence of the simple familiarity that should come so easily, and must face the question: is it worse to stay in an unhappy marriage, or leave?

Published 10th August 2017 by Hodder (UK)  

I’m right between books at the minute – however I plan to start this on this afternoon. I’ve read some incredible reviews for it!

Recently Finished  

Another good reading week. I really liked them all, but I especially liked the charm and sheer happiness I got from Any Dream Will Do by Debbie Macomber. It was such a lovely, uplifting book! I also really enjoyed Broken Branches by M. Jonathan Lee and kicking myself a little at leaving it so long to read. It’s a creepy little book with a great twist!

Reading Next 

the pool houseSomeone lied. Someone died… 

This dark, twisting novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author Tasmina Perry will keep you on the edge of your seat. Perfect for everyone who’s been gripped by Showtime TV’s The Affair, Adele Parks’ The Stranger In My Home and J. P. Delaney’s The Girl Before. ‘Gripping… Great pace and brilliantly written. I loved it’ Daily Mail on The House on Sunset Lake

When you’re invited to spend summer in the Hamptons with a group of new friends, you agree – who wouldn’t? But then you realise you’re taking the place of another woman, a woman who died in mysterious circumstances, just the summer before. Your housemates tell you her death was an accident. But which of them has something to hide?

Published 7th September 2017 by Headline  

I was lucky enough to find a copy of this on Amazon Vine. I haven’t heard a great deal about it as yet, but the one or two reviews I have read are very positive! I want to fit it in while we can sort of say it’s summer.

So, how’s your reading week been? 


1 thought on “WWW Wednesday – 23rd August 2017”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s